LASG establishes six new public primary schools


The Lagos state government has announced that it has approved the establishment of six new public primary schools under the state Universal Basic Education Board.

In a statement by the chairman of the Lagos state Universal Basic Education Board, Dr Ganiyu Sopeyin, he said the development was in line with the government’s policy on education to make qualitative and quantitative education available to the teeming population of children of school age in the state.

He dismissed any notion of segregation as he explained that the state government will pay attention to all children in the state with no special consideration for origin.

The new schools are: Community primary school, Ibasa, Community primary school, Ajewanwa – both in Ojo Local Government Education Authority – Oladele Alaka primary school, Ejigbo in Oshodi-Isolo LGEA, Iju Ajuwon primary school in Ifako-Ijaye LEGA, Osho Sholu primary school, Ewu Oloye in Ikorodu LEGA and Correctional home for boys, Oregun, Ikeja LEGA.

With the new schools, the total number of government primary schools in the state is now 1,016.

Aba Festival, Igara